Postdoctoral Research Fellow of the Year Award


The UT Health San Antonio Postdoctoral Research Fellow of the Year Award will recognize one postdoctoral research fellow who has demonstrated excellence in research, as well as achievement in other areas, e.g., leadership, service and continuing research education. The awardee will receive institutional recognition and a cash award, with the awardee being recognized at a special reception later this year. Self-nominations as well as nominations by current faculty and staff are welcome.


  • UT Health San Antonio Postdoctoral Association (UP) and Office of Postdoctoral Affairs (OPA)


  • Nominees must be currently appointed as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at UT Health San Antonio.


Nominee Packet: For each nominee, a nomination packet should be submitted to include the following in this order:

  1. Nomination Form (Click the link, download, fill out and attach to packet)
  2. Letter of Support from Primary Research Mentor (required for self-nominations or nominations provided by someone other than the nominee).
  3. Second letter of Support (provided by someone familiar with the postdoc, e.g. department chair or another faculty).
  4. Statement from the postdoc nominee summarizing accomplishments (one-page limit)
  5. Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae (CV)


Letters of support should describe why the nominee is deserving of the award.

Primary Review Criteria

  1. Publication record (including papers accepted and in press)
  2. Presentations: oral or poster presentations at meetings/conferences (local, regional, national, or international)
  3. Awards and honors: internal and/or external recognition of excellence in research, fellowships, scholarships, grants, etc.


Consideration will be also given to:

  • Service on committees and organizations (internal and/ or external), teaching, volunteering, advocacy, leadership, etc.
  • Evidence of mentorship
  • Continued education in research-related areas 

Selection Process

  • A committee of faculty will review and select the inaugural awardee.
  • The committee may select honorable mentions in addition to the award winner.


The complete nomination packet should be submitted electronically as a single PDF file to the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs ( by Friday, September 02, 2022 by 5 p.m.

 Please contact Laura Moreno at the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs at 210.567.0937 or for any questions.